Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The Ben Museum (a.k.a. One Continuous Take)

Every Bird Has a Story. What's Yours?

Calling all birds, chicks, "Sheilas," dudes too.

Here’s this dude’s story regarding the above mural and message. I’ll begin on the day I saw on a wall in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, in February, a few weeks ago.

It was a Monday. A day “off” before my Spanish language class was to start the next day. I took the bus to this neighborhood (Guadalupe) to see where the dental office was that I’d researched from home, back in Illinois.

I’d booked a teeth cleaning and an evaluation on a tooth that might need a root canal. Having read many positive reports on expats’ experiences getting dental work done in Mexico (and specifically here in SMA with the Nieto brothers), I wanted to confirm the location of my appointment, scheduled for the next day, right after my first class. As I explored the neighborhood, I found this.

Share

I was immediately struck by the beauty. My first attempt to translate the Spanish yielded this: “Each flight holds a story.” (Later, Google offered “Every bird has a story.”) Yes! And here I was, in the middle of my own story, living in Mexico for three and a half weeks, on my own (so to speak.) A solo flight.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to The Ben Museum (a.k.a. One Continuous Take) to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.