Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The Ben Museum (a.k.a. One Continuous Take)

Need a Friend?

Meet Rent-a-Friend, The Original Video Companion

I think I was ahead of my time with this one.

Today, everybody is Rent-a-Friend. They’re called YouTubers. Young men and women talking directly to the camera, speaking casually, dispensing advice or trying to sell something. Seeking views, “likes,” eyeballs. (I’m reminded of Blue Oyster Cult’s “Harvester of Eyes.”)

What was my goal, in 1986, when I created Rent-a-Friend? I wanted to push the envelope, stretch the boundaries of the cultural media phenomenon called “Home Video.” This was the era of Blockbuster Video. There was a VHS tape on every conceivable topic. Exercise, Dating, Money, Sex, Gambling, Cooking and more. It was endless. I knew, because my job at the time was to research this market and come up with promising topics to produce new “infotainment” programs on VHS. 

How about a tape for people in need of a little companionship? Like a friend who really listens to you, asks you questions about yourself, shows you pictures of his family, even plays games with you? 

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to The Ben Museum (a.k.a. One Continuous Take) to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.