Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview

The Ben Museum, Rent-a-Friend 2

The Version You've Never Seen

There was a time when I was horrified to see photos of myself, or hear recordings of my voice. That changed in 1973.

Thirteen years before Rent-a-Friend. Freshman, The George Washington University.

Why? I lost 60 pounds. It was my freshman year of college. Suddenly I was attractive. My whole life problem of being lonely and never having a girlfriend was solved. (So I thought. Erroneously.) 

I wound up becoming a performer, a funny guy. I called attention to myself and craved applause and laughter at my (hopefully) funny antics. When I landed an opportunity to be on camera for a strange video I devised called Rent -a-Friend, The Original Video Companion, I was absolutely thrilled! This was in 1986.

The Ben Museum (a.k.a. One Continuous Take) is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

During the production of RAF, I was committed to the idea of doing the entire program in one continuous take, without stopping, without edits. We did four takes over two days. The third take was the one we went with, the one that was released into the world on VHS, and ultimately became a Cult Classic.

But you know, Take 2 was pretty good too. And it’s from Take 2 that I’m now sharing moments never seen before in the media.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to The Ben Museum (a.k.a. One Continuous Take) to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.